STAT 422 - MATHEMATICAL STATISTICS

Instructor

Syllabus

Office Hours



  • Monday (3-5)
  • Tuesday (1-3)
  • Thursday (11-1, 3-5)

Homework Assignments & R Code/Data

Assignment Due Date R
Homework #1 Wednesday, February 4
Homework #2 Wednesday, February 11 hw2.r
Homework #3 Wednesday, February 18 hw3.r
Homework #4 Wednesday, February 25 awaywin.txt hw4.r
Homework #5 Wednesday, March 11
Homework #6 Wednesday, March 18 hw6.r
Homework #7 Wednesday, March 25 hw7.r cherry.txt
Homework #8 Wednesday, April 15
Homework #9 Friday, April 24 hw9.r
Homework #10 Wednesday, April 29
Homework #11 Wednesday, May 6


Recorded Lecture - March 19

Date Topic
Thursday, 3/19 Make-Up Class

Homework Solutions

Homework #1 Solutions Homework #7 Solutions
Homework #2 Solutions Homework #8 Solutions
Homework #3 Solutions Homework #9 Solutions
Homework #4 Solutions Homework #10 Solutions
Homework #5 Solutions
Homework #6 Solutions


Course Handouts

Chapter Handout R Script
R Introduction
Distributions and Their Properties
3,4,5 Review of Chapter 3,4,5 Material
6.1,6.2 The Law of Large Numbers lawlarge.r
6.3,6.4 The Central Limit Theorem
7.1-7.5 Estimation Methods betabinomial.r
7.6 Properties of MLEs
Review Sheet - Test #1
7.7-7.8 Sufficient Statistics
7.9 Improving Estimators
8.1-8.4 Sampling Distributions
8.5 Confidence Interval Estimation
Review Sheet - Test #2
Monte Carlo Confidence Interval Examples moncarlo.r
8.7,8.8 Unbiased Estimators and the CRLB
6.3,8.8,other Variance Approximations
Bootstrapping and Applications (Not in book) bootstrap.r
9.1,9.2 Hypothesis Testing (9.1-9.2)
9.1,9.5 Likelihood Ratio Test Examples
Review Sheet - Test #3
9.2,9.3 The Neyman-Pearson Lemma
9.2,9.3 More on the Neyman-Pearson Lemma
Review Sheet - Final Exam
Not in book Markov chain Monte Carlo Methods

Homework #11 is due Wednesday, May 6. The idea is that you are working on this assignment throughout the week as material is presented.

The final exam is scheduled for Tuesday, May 12 from 3:20-5:20pm in room 305 OR Friday, May 15 from 10:10am-12:10pm in room 311. You will have two hours for this exam. As with the previous tests, you may use a calculator, something with which to write, and your blue Distributions handout.

Last modified: 4-May-2015
Mail comments to: jgraham@mso.umt.edu